Browser-based rename, move, copy, and delete for individual topics
You can use browser-based controls to change a name of a topic, move it to another web or delete it to a hidden
How to rename or move a topic
- Select the
[More topic actions] link (normally located in an action toolbar at the top or bottom of page) on the topic to be changed. Then, in the new screen, click
[Rename or move topic...] or
[Delete topic...]. You can now rename and/or move in one operation:
- Move: Select the target web if other than the current web
- Rename: Enter the new topic name - default is current name
You'll be warned if any of the topics to be affected are locked (being edited), or if there is a name conflict.
- Prevent updates by unchecking individual items on the list of referring links - these topics will NOT to be updated with the new name (by default, only links in the same web will be updated).
- Click on
[Rename]: the topic will be renamed and links to the topic updated as requested.
- If any of the referring pages are locked then they will be listed: you can correct these later by again pressing
There is a Put back
feature that allows you to undo a
action - an instruction line and an undo link will appear under the
[Rename or move topic]
section of the
[More topic actions]
page. This allows you to revert from the last modification only
How to delete a topic
Foswiki deletes topics by moving them to the hidden
- Select the
[More actions] link (normally located in an action toolbar at the top or bottom of page) on the topic to be changed. Then, in the new screen, click
[Delete topic...]. That will bring up the "rename" form prepopulated with the
Trash web and a suitable topic name.
- Click on
[Delete]: the topic will be renamed and moved to the
Trash web as requested.
How to copy a topic
- Select the
[More actions] link (normally located in an action toolbar at the top or bottom of page) on the topic to be changed.
- On the "More actions" page, scroll down to the "Copy topic" section. In the "Name of copy" text box, enter in the new topic name. To copy the topic to another web, fully qualify the topic name with the web name, separating the two with a period (for example,
- Select the
[Copy topic] button. You will be directed to an edit page for the newly-created topic. You can save the new copy immediately, or make some changes and then save it.
Deleted topics: How to clear the trash
Deleted topics are moved to a special
web - they are NOT physically erased from the server. All webs share the same
- in case of a name conflict with a topic already existing in the
web, the user is alerted and asked to choose a new name.
See your chosen store implementations' topic for additional details related to
keeping your trash clean.
Redirecting from an old topic
The default "new topic" screen tells the user when a topic being created
used to exist, but was moved. So if anyone follows a link to a moved topic,
they will be able to click through to the new name.
How rename/move works
- %SEARCH%, with a special template, finds and displays all occurrences of the topic name in other topics, either web- or site-wide. These referring links are by default automatically changed to the new topic and/or web name. This includes relevant MetaData definitions.
- User can omit one or more topics from the update list by unchecking them.
<verbatim> are honoured - no changes are made to text within these areas.
Foswiki will therefore not change any references within macros defined in
- The topic is moved (if locks allow).
- References are changed (locks and permissions permitting).
- Any referring topics that cannot be changed due to locks are listed - user can take note and change them at another time.
How referring topics are found
First, matching topics in the current web are listed - matches are to
. Next, all webs (including the current one) are listed that match
webs will be searched during rename, even if
is defined on a web, though access permissions will of course be honoured.
Changed references are kept as short as possible, for example:
is used in preference to
Effect of user access settings
User permissions affect the 'rename' functions in various ways. To rename a topic, you need all of
access to that topic. To alter referring topics, you need
access. See AccessControl
for information on setting up access permissions.
Consider carefully whether to make browser-based rename/move/delete
widely available, or to restrict it to an administrator/moderator group. Allowing all users to easily manipulate topics can be extremely useful in refactoring a busy web or site. However, there are at least two significant potential drawbacks to take into account:
- When referring links are updated, the modified topics appear in WebChanges, creating the impression that editorial changes were made. This can undermine the usefulness of WebChanges.
- Due to current limitations, fairly heavy use of rename/move/delete functions can lead to an accumulation of minor technical problems (such as broken links) and usability issues (e.g. user confusion). If rename... is used heavily, these negatives will obviously increase, in number and effect.
Ultimately, the size, objectives, and policies of your site, the real-world behavior of your user group, and most importantly, the initial Foswiki site management leadership, will determine the most effective implementation of this feature, and the success of the site overall.
is fairly complicated due to the dynamic generation of links. Ideally, it would be possible to run the required part of rendering in a way that would allow identification of the text to be changed. Unfortunately, these hooks don't exist at present. Instead, %SEARCH% is used with a special template to show the text to be changed, and the selected topics are then altered. One drawback is that
can show matches that will not be updated due to case differences. Other mismatches with actual rendered output are also possible as the approaches are so different.
The following shows some limitations of square bracket processing.
[[Old Topic]] => [[NewTopic][Old Topic]]
[[old topic]] => [[NewTopic][old topic]]
[[old t opic]] => not changed
[[OldTopic]] => [[NewTopic]]
Reviewing and Reverting
The previous version of this documented recommended copy/paste from the raw view of a prior version to revert. This is not
recommended as it fails to revert changes to the topic metadata.
Note howver that no method actually reverts attachments as they are stored separately from the topics.
Foswiki's revision control saves all topic changes. To view earlier versions of a topic, click on the
link in topic actions
. If you would like to revert to an earlier version or reclaim part of an earlier version, just copy from the old topic revision to the current topic revision as follows:
- If necessary, using the
History view, find the revision number you want to restore.
- Visit the
[More topic actions] page,
[Restore topic] section.
- Enter the desired revision number and click
[Restore]. This action creates a new revision from the specified version.
This action does not "rewrite history". A new revision is created, and the rollback can still be reverted. If the is some highly sensitive data that must be removed from the history, this operation will not remove the information.
In order to completely expunge data from history, there are several possible options:
- Move the topic to trash, and create a new version of the topic by cut/paste from the raw view of the trashed topic.
- or the site administrator can use the
cmd=delRev option of the edit script to permanently remove the last revision of a topic.
- or a server admin can remove the
topic.txt,v rcs file from the file system after removing the offending information from the topic.